Growing pains

So many days spent quietly writing, correcting, polishing, deep in thought about the universe being created on the page, but none of this helps me now in writing my dreaded synopsis.

I guess many feel like me the concern for the sudden exposure to other people’s eyes on my work, as if they could read into my soul, well in a way they are, I even ask them to.

I am spending an inordinate amount of time writing, reading, proofing and finally throwing away the piece of paper supposedly meant to hold my message in a bottle to agents and publishing houses. Please buy my book, it should say, if it were at all honest, instead it is filled with a horrid (to me) short version of the main story of the novel.

Yes, I know, I know: packaging is the most important part of the sale, but this story doesn’t want to fit in a box, it keeps escaping, it is alive and hates to be in one form only.

So here I am looking at the many agencies, publishers, contests and wondering if this frail ship will take me to the other side the way it wants, or if I need to force the material into a more suitable form for the world.

Opinions, suggestions, nudges are all welcome, since I am crossing this river, but I would prefer to do it in good company.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

